Later 2013

Geez I haven’t written a blog in over a month! I have thought about it a few times but just never actually got around to it. Lets wrap up 2013 and get 2014 underway shall we!?

I will start with some sad news. On December 10th my grandpa passed away. He is the one I wrote about in my I run because I can blog. It was really tough to know he is no longer with us but at the same time I was happy knowing that he got to heaven just in time to spend Christmas with my grandma and the rest of the family. I honored him by eating pizza and cannoli’s like any good Italian would and spent time with the family talking about the good ol days. RIP Gramps. You will always be in our hearts.

gramps

December of course is a busy month. We celebrated my little brothers birthday which is December 4th and my mom’s birthday which is December 28th.

I had off from work from the 20th of December until January 2nd. That was a glorious yet of course not long enough vacation. Mom and I baked up a storm for days as we do every year. We do tequila shots and listen to Christmas music in honor of my grandma who passed away in December of 2001. We laugh, sometimes we cry. We (I) throw flour around my mom’s kitchen. It’s a good time.

baking

cookies

While I was off from work I did get in some runs and workouts including my 9.5 mile run as part of my training for princess half marathon. I added up the total number of miles I ran in 2013 and it came out to 447.42 miles!! I went from 0 half marathons to 4!

We spent NYE with some good friends and then had a nice little family dinner new year’s day.

nye

nyd

Oh and I only gained about 4 pounds over my 2 week vacation and believe me when I say that I ATE.

I am looking forward to pushing myself more this year and continuing this journey. I will be turning 30 in a few months!!

I joined my first dietbet! Its starts today!

My next half marathon is next month. I will be looking up some more races once I am done with this blog so that I can add some more to the race calendar and keep myself moving.

I hope everyone had a great holiday season and a very happy new year!

Let’s get moving!

Leave a comment